<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Beware Softonic Download Scam</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/</link>
	<description>Otaku Software Weblog</description>
	<pubDate>Thu, 20 Nov 2008 12:53:25 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6.3</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: Gustavo B.</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77529</link>
		<dc:creator>Gustavo B.</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 04 Aug 2008 21:41:47 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77529</guid>
		<description>Softonic is absolutely a scam site whenever you try to download a trial software from the link of the original publisher in their site it will show a message like this:

"The download link from the publisher's site appears to be broken" 
"The file is always available through Softonic's Deluxe Services"

I made a test for 10 different programs.

This is Bullshit... Don't pay for trial software.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Softonic is absolutely a scam site whenever you try to download a trial software from the link of the original publisher in their site it will show a message like this:</p>
<p>&#8220;The download link from the publisher&#8217;s site appears to be broken&#8221;<br />
&#8220;The file is always available through Softonic&#8217;s Deluxe Services&#8221;</p>
<p>I made a test for 10 different programs.</p>
<p>This is Bullshit&#8230; Don&#8217;t pay for trial software.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: James Stewart</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77522</link>
		<dc:creator>James Stewart</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 06:57:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77522</guid>
		<description>Tom: Thank you very much for your prompt response to this issue.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Tom: Thank you very much for your prompt response to this issue.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Tom Clarke</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77521</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom Clarke</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 Jul 2008 08:44:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77521</guid>
		<description>Hi there, short update: Our changes in the wording are already online as you can see on our site now. Again, we'd like to say sorry for any inconvenience caused. Tom at Softonic</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi there, short update: Our changes in the wording are already online as you can see on our site now. Again, we&#8217;d like to say sorry for any inconvenience caused. Tom at Softonic</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Barr</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77520</link>
		<dc:creator>Barr</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 06 Jul 2008 15:46:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77520</guid>
		<description>Looks like this is the case with nearly everything on the site. I've just paid to download something else which is a trial version. Avoid these scammers.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Looks like this is the case with nearly everything on the site. I&#8217;ve just paid to download something else which is a trial version. Avoid these scammers.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Tom Clarke</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77519</link>
		<dc:creator>Tom Clarke</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 27 Jun 2008 14:05:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77519</guid>
		<description>Dear Otaku Software team, 

We are very sorry for any confusion caused. It was never our intention to mislead our users. As an immediate step we have deactivated the paid download option on our Deskspace download pages. As soon as possible, we will change the wording of the paid download option on all program pages to “Download trial version of %program_name% from Softonic” to make it clearer that you pay for getting the software from our server, not purchasing the full version. Thanks a lot for your feedback. 

Regards from the Softonic team in Barcelona</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Dear Otaku Software team, </p>
<p>We are very sorry for any confusion caused. It was never our intention to mislead our users. As an immediate step we have deactivated the paid download option on our Deskspace download pages. As soon as possible, we will change the wording of the paid download option on all program pages to “Download trial version of %program_name% from Softonic” to make it clearer that you pay for getting the software from our server, not purchasing the full version. Thanks a lot for your feedback. </p>
<p>Regards from the Softonic team in Barcelona</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: James Stewart</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77517</link>
		<dc:creator>James Stewart</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 22:23:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77517</guid>
		<description>You're absolutely right. If they don't take it down soon their reputation is also going to take a major hit.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>You&#8217;re absolutely right. If they don&#8217;t take it down soon their reputation is also going to take a major hit.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Nico Westerdale</title>
		<link>http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/2008/06/24/beware-softonic-download-scam/#comment-77516</link>
		<dc:creator>Nico Westerdale</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 10:15:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.otakusoftware.com/blog/?p=128#comment-77516</guid>
		<description>I'm amazed that Softonic has taken this step as it's clearly extreemly confusing to users. I'd imagine that they will get a lot of complaints and be forced to take it down as it's very misleading.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m amazed that Softonic has taken this step as it&#8217;s clearly extreemly confusing to users. I&#8217;d imagine that they will get a lot of complaints and be forced to take it down as it&#8217;s very misleading.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
